Twitter Status
Updates on the status of the Twitter service.
Related Links
Official Company Blog

Official Help Documents

Developer Community

Archive

RSS
Powered by Tumblr
Jun
9th
Wed
permalink

Site availability issues 4 years ago

We are experiencing site availability issues — additional latency and errors — this morning. We’re working to address these issues.

Update: 9:07 PDT / 16:07 UTC: Users may notice that their timelines are updating slowly. All tweets will eventually be delivered.

Update: 9:32 AM PDT / 16:32 UTC: To help stabilize the site we’re turning off a set of features including but not limited to: Twitter Search, hovercards, web sidebar data (trends, friends counts, etc), and profile image uploads.

Update 9:57 AM PDT/ 16:32 UTC: Timelines are now current. Various other features remain disabled.

Update 10:34 AM PDT / 17:34 UTC: All site features have been re-enabled. Latency and error rates are recovering quickly.

Update 12:29 PM PDT / 19:29 UTC:¬†We’ve identified the cause of today’s incident as an error with networking equipment. This networking error prevented us from serving at full capacity.

Update 2:25 PM PDT / 21:25 UTC: We’re experiencing a recurrence of this morning’s networking issue. We’re investigating.